Ahmer Afroz Executive Director 

image2 2

Ahmer has with over nine years of experience in the field of HIV in government, community health, research, and nonprofit settings. Prior to his role as Executive Director for UAF, Ahmer worked for the Utah Department of Health serving as the HIV Health Program Coordinator implementing statewide HIV prevention initiatives. He also previously served as a Project Manager for the Fenway Institute of Fenway Health in Boston, Massachusetts, where he implemented biomedical and behavioral HIV prevention research studies. 

Ahmer holds a Master of Public Health from Boston University school of Public Health, with a concentration in Social and Behavioral Sciences, and is a current doctoral student at Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health in the Health, Equity, and Social Justice    concentration. Ahmer is currently preparing to conduct his dissertation research which will focus on access to PrEP for priority populations.






Teresa Hyatt - Chief Financial Officer

Jared Hafen Programming Director

jareds pic

Jared joined the Utah AIDS Foundation as Case Manager in 2014, and became Programming Director in 2017.

Jared has a BA in Psychology from Nevada State College, and has worked in the field of HIV for more than fifteen years, initially as a volunteer and intern in HIV prevention and education at Western Colorado AIDS Project. 

Part of Jared’s self-care plan is to hike and go backpacking as often as possible, meditate at the hot springs, and spend time with his two corgis, Timber and Ari.









Chet Cannon Development Manager


Chet’s career in the nonprofit world began in 2005. His efforts to raise funds and promote engagement of individuals in organizations that align with their deepest passions has taken him across the United States and Europe.  

His dedication to reduce HIV stigma in Utah came into focus when he accepted a position at Utah AIDS Foundation in 2011. After several years with the foundation Chet seized an opportunity to join the development team at Preservation Utah, fulfilling his avid interest in historic preservation. 

With developing advancements in treatment and renewed awareness surrounding HIV and sexually transmitted infections, Chet felt driven to once again join the team of sexual health champions at Utah AIDS Foundation in late 2019. 

When not working to rally support for those affected by HIV Chet can be found enjoying a wide array of interests; from preservation projects on his historic home, to exploring Utah’s priceless natural wonders with his husband Jeffrey and three Tibetan Terriers, Bruce, Maya and Dolly.




Matthew Moea'i Development Specialist

47391633 10215006843218585 5548082424753160192 o 2










Ryan Gibbs Case Manager

Bio Photo

Ryan Gibbs joined UAF in September of 2017 as a Case Manager. He came on board after completing two years of volunteer service with AmeriCorp at the Fourth Street Clinic. During that time he also assisted in getting one of Utah's first syringe exchanges up and running in the Rio Grande area. He graduated from the University of Utah in 2014 with a BS in Psychology and a BS in Political Science.

Ryan is a Utah native and is passionate about skiing, social justice, world affairs, opera, power yoga, and swimming. His world outside of UAF revolves around his two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels, Charlotte & Pierre.






Teighlor Kodel Case Manager


Teighlor Kodel joined The Utah AIDS Foundation in 2018 as a Case Manager. Teighlor has a BS in Psychology with a minor in Human and Family Development from Utah State University and is currently in the second year of her Masters of Social Work program from Arizona State University.

Before working at UAF, Teighlor spent her time volunteering with The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention in memory of her dad and friends she has lost to suicide and Fort Bend County Women’s Center in Houston, TX where she lived for several years before moving back to her hometown of Magna, Utah.

In her free time Teighlor enjoys traveling, spending time with family and friends, trying new restaurants and camping. 




Brandy Romero Client Supportive Services Coordinator

17353322 1261297727281805 73275252018343847 n

Brandy Romero has been involved with the Utah AIDS Foundation since 1998, when she participated in her first pledge walk to raise money for the Utah AIDS Foundation in memory of her father Joseph Romero. Brandy continues to walk every year. In 2005 Brandy started volunteering at the Utah AIDS Foundation for events, outreach program and HIV Test Site, and was hired in 2015 to serve as Supportive Services Coordinator. Brandy oversees the Food Bank and coordinates the Seasons Givings Holiday Program and other direct client services.

Brandy's life passion is helping those in need. She is committed in her work at the Utah AIDS Foundation to help reduce hunger and the financial burden of food, for clients; and to facilitate clients’ social engagement and connection with a supportive community.








Brock Nielson HIV Prevention Specialist

Brock joined the Utah AIDS Foundation in May of 2019 as an HIV Prevention Coordinator. He is now the Community Engagement Specialist. Prior to working at UAF, Brock has been volunteering in the community for years and has also been on the Board of Directors for one of Utah’s longest running LGBTQ Non-profits, The Royal Court of the Golden Spike Empire. He has a passion for giving back, helping all of those in need, and striving for a better community. Brock spends most of his time doing charity work and helping those in need. He is a Drag Queen and loves every aspect of being involved and being an advocate for the community.

Blake Johnson HIV Prevention Specialist

Blake joined the Utah AIDS Foundation in 2018 and is currently the HIV/STD Prevention Coordinator.

He graduated from the University of Utah in 2018 with a bachelors degree in Biology.

Before working at UAF, Blake was a volunteer at the foundation's HIV/STD Test Site for over a year and a half. 

Beth Layton Benefits Specialist

Kush and me

Beth joined the Utah AIDS Foundation in 2016 as a Health Exchange Navigator for the Marketplace under the Affordable Care Act. Beth has a background serving in medically based nonprofits and experience in wilderness therapy. She holds a Bachelor’s Degree from Millersville University of Pennsylvania.

Beth was drawn from her hometown of Lancaster, Pennsylvania to the beautiful landscape of Utah over 20 years ago. She like to spend time reading with her cat, taking in live music and enjoying the outdoors with her family.






Karen Denton Benefits Specialist

Kay 2

Karen Denton has focused her career on assisting people in vulnerable situations and addressing the underlying systemic causes of poverty.  She has worked in juvenile justice, mental health, homelessness and housing, refugee resettlement, community outreach, child welfare, gerontology, environmental justice and HIV/AIDS.  Karen has conducted research on women’s networks and mental health, written articles for the public, and taught both social work and sociology at the University of Utah. 

She holds a Masters in Social Work from Syracuse University, a PhD in Sociology from the University of Utah, and received a Post-Doctorate Fellowship from The Gerontology Society of America.




Patricia Rickers - Finance Manager